The Kelly House Four

A great WordPress.com site

Why Is It…… May 7, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — kellyfour @ 10:17 pm

…… that for your birthday, everyone you are acquainted with crawls out of the woodwork to post “Happy Birthday” on your FB page? These are people you never talk to – haven’t seen in years in most cases, but because that lovely little notifier on FB points out that someone has a birthday, in comes the tidal wave of two word posts bearing well wishes for the day. I’ll be honest, it doesn’t sit well with me. It seems that said birthday posts are trite, forced, and hollow. If you can’t dig up five minutes worth of a conversation with me, why are you telling me happy birthday? If you never “like” status updates, pictures, or acknowledge me online, then what’s the point?

I guess I’m seeing this as a reevaluation of where I “sit” in regards to FB friendships. Why do I have so many people on my list if we never have anything to do with one another? I guess spring cleaning has hit my FB once again, because I’m tired of the off the wall ignorance some people show towards my life – if you’re really keeping track of things on FB then you’d know that all your assumptions are really making you look like an ass. I’m tired of the comments that I go through and delete because I “can’t” have an opinion that disagrees with yours; last time I checked, we’ve both got brains in these skulls of ours, and I’m not opting for a transplant anytime soon so you can keep your mindset and I’ll keep mine, TYVM.

 

Leave a Reply

